The Credit Goes to Boyle and Rahman: Gulzar

The Credit Goes to Boyle and Rahman: Gulzar

Noted lyricist Gulzar today expressed enormous pleasure at being internationally nominated for the first time for the British-Indian movie Slumdog Millionaire and said the recognition at this stage had infused fresh energy in him.

"This Academy Award nomination is also a recognition for the Indian cinema and a reassurance for my work that has given me new energy to keep going ahead", Gulzar said at the fourth edition of the Jaipur Literature Festival.

Refusing to rank his latest nomination in comparison to awards and accolades he has earlier received, he said, this was his first international nomination.

"I received the news from my daughter and son-in-law in Mumbai who were very proud of it. Naturally the reaction is pleasant and I am very happy to know about it," he said.

Crediting the success of his song in the movie to film director Danny Boyle and music director A R Rahman, he said it was a collective effort.

"Some people behind this achievement need a special mention. First of all Boyle, who chose the composition and put them in place and Rahman whom I am very proud of," an elated Gulzar said, adding "This has made a difference to the Indian film industry.

Gulzar said he was very happy that the good news came when author Vikas Swarup whose book Q and A provided the plot to Slumdog Millionaire was also present here.

Praising Rahman, Gulzar said that he had high hopes from the musician, who at this young age has done the country tremendously proud.

Slumdog Millionaire won four Golden Globe awards and received a whopping 11 nominations for the BAFTA.

A R Rahman today became the first Indian to get three Oscar nominations for his score in the movie which was also nominated for seven other categories including best film and best director.

Rahman was nominated for Best Original Score and the numbers Jai Ho and O Saya were shortlisted for the Best Original Song.

Close on the heels of the dual-language film winning four Golden Globes, including one for Rahman, earlier this month, Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy were shortlisted for best director and best adapted screenplay categories.

The film also won nominations in cinematography, sound mixing, sound editing and film editing.

Following is a list of the 81st Annual Academy Awards nominations for 2009:

Best Picture:
Slumdog Millionaire, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Frost/Nixon, Milk, The Reader.

Best Director:
Danny Boyle (Slumdog Millionaire), David Fincher (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), Ron Howard (Frost/Nixon), Gus Van Sant (Milk), Stephen Daldry (The Reader).

Best Original Score:
Slumdog Millionaire (A R Rahman), The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (Alexandre Desplat), Defiance (James Newton Howard), Milk (Danny Elfman), WALL-E (Thomas Newman).

Best Original Song:
Jai Ho from Slumdog Millionaire (A R Rahman and Gulzar), O Saya from Slumdog Millionaire (A R Rahman and Maya Arulpragasam), Down to Earth from WALL-E (Peter Gabriel and Thomas Newman).

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Simon Beaufoy (Slumdog Millionaire), Eric Roth and Robin Swicord (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), John Patrick Shanley (Doubt), Peter Morgan (Frost/Nixon), David Hare (The Reader).

Best Cinematography:
Slumdog Millionaire, Changeling, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Dark Knight, The Reader.

Best Sound Mixing:
Slumdog Millionaire, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Dark Knight, WALL-E, Wanted.

Best Sound Editing:
Slumdog Millionaire, The Dark Knight, Iron Man, WALL-E, Wanted.

Best Film Editing:
Slumdog Millionaire, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Dark Knight, Frost/Nixon, Milk.

Best Actor:
Richard Jenkins (The Visitor), Frank Langella (Frost/Nixon), Sean Penn (Milk), Brad Pitt (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), Mickey Rourke (The Wrestler).

Best Actress:
Anne Hathaway (Rachel Getting Married), Angelina Jolie (Changeling), Melissa Leo (Frozen River), Meryl Streep (Doubt), Kate Winslet (The Reader).

Best Supporting Actor:
Josh Brolin (Milk), Robert Downey Jr. (Tropic Thunder), Philip Seymour Hoffman (Doubt), Heath Ledger (The Dark Knight), Michael Shannon (Revolutionary Road).

Best Supporting Actress:
Amy Adams (Doubt), Penelope Cruz (Vicky Cristina Barcelona), Viola Davis (Doubt), Taraji P Henson, (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button), Marisa Tomei (The Wrestler).

Best Foreign Film:
'The Baader Meinhof Complex (Germany), The Class (France), Departures (Japan), Revanche (Austria), Waltz With Bashir (Israel).

Best Original Screenplay:
Courtney Hunt (Frozen River), Mike Leigh (Happy-Go-Lucky), Martin McDonagh (In Bruges), Dustin Lance Black (Milk), Andrew Stanton (Jim Reardon), Pete Docter (WALL-E).

Best Animated Feature Film:

Bolt, Kung Fu Panda, WALL-E.

Best Art Direction:
Changeling, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Dark Knight, The Duchess, Revolutionary Road.

Best Costume:
Australia, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Duchess, Milk, Revolutionary Road.' 

Best Documentary Feature:

The Betrayal (Nerakhoon), Encounters at the End of the World, The Garden, Man on Wire, Trouble the Water.

Best Documentary (short subject):
The Conscience of Nhem En, The Final Inch, Smile Pinki, The Witness - From the Balcony of Room 306.

Best Makeup:
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Dark Knight, Hellboy II: The Golden Army.

Best Animated Short Film:

La Maison en Petits Cubes, Lavatory - Lovestory, Oktapodi, Presto, This Way Up.

Best Live Action Short Film:

Auf der Strecke (On the Line), Manon on the Asphalt, New Boy, The Pig, Spielzeugland (Toyland).

Best Visual Effects:

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Dark Knight, Iron Man.

Oscar winners announced previously this year are Jerry Lewis, Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award (Oscar statuette); and Pixar Animation co-founder Ed Catmull, Gordon E Sawyer Award (Oscar statuette).

Next Story : India-EU FTA Not Likely Before Elections: Mandelson
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner