Srinivasan Re-Elected TNCA President

Srinivasan Re-Elected TNCA President

Former BCCI chief and current ICC Chairman N Srinivasan was unanimously elected President of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association for the 14th consecutive time in its 85th Annual General Meeting here today.

Srinivasan, who was forced to step aside from BCCI President's post and later withdraw from a possible re-election owing to the IPL spot-fixing scandal, has been elected in the TNCA for a one-year term.

Incumbent Secretary Kashi Viswanathan also held on to his position for another term. V P Narsimhan was elected Treasurer.

Srinivasan has been heading the TNCA since 2002-03 when he ended former BCCI President AC Muthiah's reign.

The 70-year-old has been in the line of fire ever since the 2013 IPL spot-fixing scandal which rocked Indian cricket. He was forced to step aside as BCCI chief after his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan was found to be involved in betting by a Supreme Court-appointed inquiry committee.

Meiyappan was the Team Principal of Chennai Super Kings, the IPL franchise in which Srinivasan's company -- India Cements -- had a stake.

Rapped for conflict of interest by the apex Court, the Tamil Nadu strongman was eventually barred from contesting the BCCI polls in March this year.

Following the election of Jagmohan Dalmiya as BCCI President and Anurag Thakur as Secretary, Srinivasan has lost significant clout in the Cricket Board.

However, he will continue to be the ICC Chairman till September 2016, a position he took over last year.

Next Story : Release Funds For Salary of EDMC Employees: HC to Delhi Govt
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner