Shatrughan a Notable Omission at BJP's April 14 Show

Shatrughan a Notable Omission at BJP's April 14 Show

When the top BJP brass including Rajnath Singh and Amit Shah will be here tomorrow to sound the bugle for Bihar Assembly polls, Shatrughan Sinha, a prominent party face, will be missing from the scene.

Sinha, BJP Lok Sabha member from Patna Saheb, who should have been the host of the show for being a local MP, will be absent from the function to celebrate B R Ambedkar's birth anniversary at the Gandhi maidan.

Asked whether has he been extended invitation for April 14 programme, Sinha, a second term MP, sounded evasive and merely said it was all within the family.

"Whether I got invitation or not or why not invited. Why not seen in party campaign. It's all within the family (party)," Sinha told a section of media.

Apparently no longer much in the party's reckoning, Sinha, who for a long time had been a BJP star campaigner, said he was not in the race for any post but would perform any responsibility entrusted by the party to him.

"I am not in any race for the post of chief minister. I have no wish for the post," Sinha, popularly known as 'Bihari Babu', said during his short visit to the city last night.

Asked why despite being such an important personality he was being ignored in the party, the actor-turned BJP leader said, "It may be because they might not have thought me worth for any post or responsibility."

"I am among 100 members of BJP working committee from Bihar and when called I come," Sinha, who served as Union minister in Atal Bihari Vajpayee government, said.

In reply to a question that time to time posters appear in his constituency which claim he was missing, Sinha denied the charge and alleged, "It's our own people who have been indulging in such tactics regularly."

When asked reason for people trying to keep him away from the scene, Sinha said, "It might be because of the fear that they feel themselves turning dwarf in front of my personality."

Asked who would be best suited for the post of chief minister from BJP in Bihar, Sinha said the party had a galaxy of leaders including Sushil Kumar Modi, Nand Kishore Yadav, Giriraj Singh, C P Thakur and Ashwani Choubey among others.

"Whosoever is chosen by BJP Parliamentary Board I think has the capacity to occupy CM's post," he said.

Next Story : Future Rafale Deals Will Also Be Under Govt to Govt: Parrikar
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner