Sahitya Akademi Announces Winners of Translation Prize

New Delhi
Sahitya Akademi Announces Winners of Translation Prize

A total of 23 authors have won the Sahitya Akademi's Translation Prize for 2015, the literary body said today.

The names of the winners were approved at a meeting of the Executive Board of the Akademi chaired by its President Vishwanath Prasad, it said.

"The books were selected on the basis of recommendations from the Selection Committees of three members each in the various languages," the Akademi said.

Among the winners of the Translation Prize-2015 are Suresh Talukdar (Assamese), Mau Das Gupta (Bengali), Dhansri Swargiary (Bodo), Chhatarpal (Dogri), Susheela Punitha (English), Sharifa Vijliwala (Gujarati), Damodar Khadse (Hindi), N Damodara Shetty (Kannada), Rattan Lal Shant (Kashmiri), Jaymala Danayat (Konkani), Devendra Jha (Maithili) and KC Ajaykumar (Malayalam).

Also named for the honour were Naorem Khagendra (Manipuri), Shankar Pradhan (Nepali), Shakuntala Baliarsingh (Odia), Balbir Parwana (Punjabi), Madan Saini (Rajasthani), Tarashankar Sharma 'Pandeya' (Sanskrit), Tala Tudu (Santhali), Sarita Sharma (Sindhi), Gowri Kirubanandan (Tamil), LR Swamy (Telugu) and Suhail Ahmad Farooqi (Urdu).

The award comes with a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a copper plaque. The prizes will be handed out at a function later this year.

The winner of the award for Marathi will be decided later, the Akademi said, adding that the majority of the books which have won this year are novels.


Post a Comment

You are not logged in, To comment please / Register
or use
Next Story : Received Life Threat Again on JNU Issue: Ashutosh
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters