RS Polls: Scrutiny Over, 25 Likely to Be Elected Unopposed

New Delhi
RS Polls: Scrutiny Over, 25 Likely to Be Elected Unopposed

Nominations of most candidates for Rajya Sabha biennial polls were found valid after scrutiny today, paving the way for election of Union minister Sharad Pawar, Murli Deora (Congress), RPI's Ramdas Athawale and Vijay Goel (BJP) along with 21 others to the Upper House unopposed.

Scrutiny of nominations for 55 Rajya Sabha seats in 16 states ended this evening and papers of all notable candidates were found in order, Returning Officers said.

The victory of at least 25 aspirants is a near-certainty with theirs being the only serious nominations against as many vacancies.

Those who are likely to be elected unopposed are Pawar and Majid Memon (both NCP), Deora and Hussain Dalwai (Cong) and Rajkumar Dhoot (Shiv Sena), all from Maharashtra, and sitting MP Parimal Nathwani, an independent, from Jharkhand.

The nominations of six AIADMK, DMK and CPI-M aspirants from Tamil Nadu have been accepted and they are likely to be elected uncontested.

The six are L Sasikala Pushpa, Vijila Satyanand, S Muthukaruppan and A K Selvaraj (all AIADMK), Tiruchi N Siva of DMK and CPI-M's T K Rangarajan.

Two nominations were rejected in the state, Returning Officer A M P Jamaludeen said in Chennai.

No other parties, including main opposition DMDK, fielded any candidate for the biennial polls.

In Rajasthan, BJP's Goel, Ram Narain Dudi and Narain Pachariya are likely to be elected unopposed from the state on January 31, the last date of withdrawal of nominations, after their papers were found in order.

In Andhra Pradesh, papers of all the eight candidates, including two Congress rebels, were found valid.

The nominations of rebels K V V Satyanarayana Raju alias Chaitanya Raju and Adala Prabhakar Reddy were declared valid by Returning Officer S Raja Sadaram after scrutiny.

Nomination papers of Selja, a known detractor of Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda and a surprise nominee of the Congress party from Haryana, were in order.

In Assam, the nominations of Sanjay Sinh, a Lok Sabha member from Sultanpur in Uttar Pradesh, and three others were found valid.

The nomination of Sanjay (Cong) has sparked protests in the state with a number of civil organisations and political parties opposing his candidature.

They said it was a betrayal of the people of Assam as an outsider cannot solve the state's problems.

The nomination papers of three Independent candidates were rejected in Odisha.

"Out of eight who filed their nominations, three have been rejected due to lack of required proposers," Returning Officer Amiya Kumar Sarangi said.

Papers of three BJD candidates - Kalpataru Das, Ananga Uday Singhdeo and Sarojini Hembram, Cong's Ranjib Biswal and Independent candidate Raghunath Mohapatra were found valid.

Seven seats will fall vacant in Maharashtra, six each in Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh, five each in West Bengal and Bihar, four each in Odisha and Gujarat, three each in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Assam, two each in Haryana, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh, and one each in Manipur, Himachal Pradesh and Meghalaya.

Next Story : Cong MP Links Youth's Suicide to Kiran's Comments
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store