Police Issues Notice to Nine Journalists in Patiala Assault Case

New Delhi
Police Issues Notice to Nine Journalists in Patiala Assault Case

Delhi Police has issued notices to at least nine journalists in the city to join probe in connection with the February 15 violence at the Patiala House court complex.

These journalists were present at the court on the day when JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar, arrested in connection with a case of sedition, was to be produced, when a group of men wearing lawyers' robes suddenly unleashed a brazen attack on journalists, students and teachers of JNU there.

The notices were served under Section 160 of the CrPC asking the journalists to join investigation along with evidence on specific dates, a source said.

The journalists had filed a joint complaint at the Tilak Marg Police station alleging that they were assualted by lawyers in the court premises on February 15.

Later, police taking suo moto cognisance of the incident had lodged two separate FIRs in connection with the incident, leading to arrest of BJP MLA O P Sharma in one case and three lawyers -- identified as Vikram Singh Chauhan, Yashpal Singh and Om Sharma -- in connection with the second case.

Next Story : Gujarat Minister Acquitted in 2007 Poll Code Breach Case
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner