Parmanand ninth Governor failing to complete tenure

Parmanand ninth Governor failing to complete tenure
Chandigarh, Jul 2 (PTI) Babu Parmanand, who was sacked as Haryana Governor this afternoon, is among nine of the 12 Governors of the state who have failed to complete their five year tenure.

Only three Governors - Birendra Naryan Chakravarty (two terms from Sept 15,1967 to Mar 26,1976), Dhanik Lal Mandal (Feb 6,19 90 to June 13,1995) and Mahabir Parsad (June 14,1995 to June 19,2000), presently a Union Minister in the Manmohan Singh led UPA Government- have completed their tenure.

Parmanand is on an official tour to Saharanpur in Uttar Pradesh. He was scheduled to return only tomorrow morning.

The other eight whose tenure was less than five years were Dharam Vira (Jan 1,1966 to Sept 14,1967), Ranjit Singh Narula (March 27,1976 to August 13,1976), Jaisukh Lal Hathi (August 14,1976 to Sept 23,1977), Harcharan Singh Brar (Sept 24,1977 to Dec 9,1979), S S Sandhawalia (Dec 10,1979 to Feb 27,1980), G D Tapase (Feb 28,1980 to June 13,1980), S M H Burney (June 14,19 84 to Feb 21,1988) and Hari Anand Barari (Feb 22,1988 to Feb 5,1990).


Post a Comment

You are not logged in, To comment please / Register
or use
Next Story : World Heritage status for Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters