Naeem Akhtar Inducted in J&K Ministry

Naeem Akhtar Inducted in J&K Ministry

Former bureaucrat-turned-politician, Naeem Akhtar, who is considered to be an ideologue of the PDP was today inducted as Minister in Mufti Mohammad Sayeed government.

He has served as Principal Secretary between 2002 and 2005, when Mufti Mohammad Sayeed was the chief minister.

Akhtar, who is currently a member of the Upper House of the state Assembly, was appointed as the sole spokesman of the party after some party leaders started speaking in different voices after the December 23 elections.

Altaf Bukhari --the MLA from Amira Kadal constituency of Srinagar has also become part of the council of Ministers.

Bukhari is a top industrialist in the state and is also the treasurer of the PDP.

Abdul Rehman Veeri, who has been elected to Assembly for fourth time, has also become cabinet Minister in J&K government. He was Minister of State for Home in Mufti Sayeed government in 2002.

Jammu and Kashmir Governor N N Vohra nominated Anjum Fazili and Priya Sethi to the Legislative Assembly as MLAs.

The Governor nominated Anjum Fazili of Kursoo Rajbagh, Srinagar, and Priya Sethi of Jammu to the Assembly, Raj Bhawan spokesman said tonight.

Priya is Minister of State in the council of ministers of Mufti Mohmmad Sayeed government.

The nomination has been made by the Governor in exercise of powers under Section 47(1) of the Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir, he said.

Among the 16 cabinet ministers, PDP has taken lion's share with 11 including the Chief Minister Mufti Mohd Sayeed.

PDP cabinet ministers are Ab Rahman Veri, Javed Mustafa Mir, Ab Haq Khan, Syed Basharat Bukhari, Chaudhary Zulfikar Ali, Dr Haseeb Drabu, Ghulam Nabi Lone, Mohammad Altaf Bukhari, Imran Ansari and Naeem Akhtar.

While as BJP has only six cabinet ministers which include Nirmal Singh, Chandar Prakash, Lal Singh, Bali Baghat, Sukhnandan Kumar and Sajad Gani Lone.

Among the eight Ministers of State(MoS), PDP has three - Ab Majid Paddar, Mohammad Ashraf Mir and Aasia Naqash - while BJP has five in this category - Sheiling Dhorje, Sunil Kumar Sharma, Ab Gani Kohli, Priya Sethi and Pawan Kumar Gupta.

Post a Comment

You are not logged in, To comment please / Register
or use
Next Story : MNREGA Fell Prey to Corruption in Gujarat When Modi was CM: Congress
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters