`Koi Mil Gaya' sweeps top honours at Zee Cine Awards

`Koi Mil Gaya' sweeps top honours at Zee Cine Awards
K S R Menon Dubai, Feb 27 (PTI) The award-winning spree continued for the biggest grosser of 2003 `Koi Mil Gaya' and its lead actor Hrithik Roshan, with the sci-fi flick sweeping top honours at the Zee Cine Awards, including for best film and best actor.

At the five-hour mega event here last night, held for the first time outside India and hosted by filmmaker Karan Johar and actress Juhi Chawla, Urmila Matondkar grabbed the best actress award for her role as a possessed housewife in the horror drama `Bhoot'.

It was celebration time for the Roshans, with Hrithik grabbing the best actor award, and his father and director of `Koi Mil Gaya' Rakesh getting the best director prize.

Saif Ali Khan, following up his victories in Filmfare and Screen Awards, once again stood out in the supporting actor category, winning the award for his role in the mushy `Kal Ho Na Ho'.

The best supporting actress award went to veteran Shabana Azmi for `Tehzeeb'.

Attended by a galaxy of Bollywood stars and punctuated by spectacular stage performances, the 7th Annual Zee Cine Awards saw megastar Amitabh Bachchan bestowed the `Golden Grade' award.

The `Superstar of the Year' award went to Shahrukh Khan and Preity Zinta. Filmmaker Yash Johar won the Lifetime Achievement Award, while actor Dharmendra was honoured for Best Contribution to Indian Cinema.

Actor Rahul Dev won the best villain award for `Footpath' and Arshad Warsi was adjudged best comedian for his role in the very popular `Munnabhai MBBS'.

The winners for the awards were chosen by viewers' ballots worldwide.

Among the other honours, Shahid Kapoor (`Ishq Vishq') and Bhumika Chawla (`Tere Naam') got the award for best debut in acting while Raj Kumar Hirani won the best debut director award for his film `Munnabhai MBBS'.

Shaan won the best singer (male) award for the song `Suno na' from the film `Jhankaar Beats', while Sadhana Sargam got the best singer (female) award for the film `Kuch na Kaho'.

`Kal Ho Na Ho' won the best song award and `Tere Naam' was awarded for best soundtrack.

Best lyricist prize went to writer Amrita Pritam for `Pinjar'.

Leading the entertainment show at the function was superstar Shahrukh Khan and upcoming actress and former Miss Universe Lara Dutta.

The ceremony was also attended by a number of Pakistani stars, including Omar Sharif.

Meanwhile, Zee chief Subhash Chandra, who was here in connection with the awards function, earlier called on the Crown Prince of Dubai and UAE Defence Minister Gen. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

Next Story : Left ultras go on rampage in Bihar, Jharkhand
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner