Kalka-Shimla Railway is now a World Heritage Site

Kalka-Shimla Railway is now a World Heritage Site
New Delhi, July 8 (PTI) The Kalka-Shimla Railway, considered an engineering marvel of the 19th century, has become a World Heritage Site with the UN approving it for inclusion in the World Heritage List.

Acknowledging its outstanding universal value, the Committee of the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) in its meeting yesterday in Quebec in Canada granted the inscription of the 96-km-long Kalka-Shimla Railway (KSR) as World Heritage Site.

The decision to include the railway in the heritage list was taken by the UNESCO's heritage committee on Monday in Quebec, Indian Railways Executive Director Rajesh Aggarwal told PTI.

A special feature of this line is multi-arch galleries which have been built instead of conventional bridges.

The committee meeting began on July 2 to consider the nominations which include 13 natural and 34 cultural sites.

Welcoming the decision, Railway Board Member R K Rao said the decision is a boost for the Railways as well as tourism in the country.

"We have taken all possible steps to ensure its inscription and we were expecting it," he said.

With the KSR getting the UNESCO nod, Indian Railways now have World Heritage Sites in all the four regions in the country with Darjeeling Himalayan Railway in the east, Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminal in the west and Nilgiri Mountain Railway in the south.

Railways had prepared a detailed documentation on the KSR to be examined by the committee.

"Large dossiers comprising maps, charts, diagrams and audio visual content have been sent to the committee and the case was presented in a comprehensive way," said Rao.


Post a Comment

You are not logged in, To comment please / Register
or use
Next Story : Muslim board fumes at law commission proposals
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters