Jagdale pips Biswal to Become New BCCI Secretary

Jagdale pips Biswal to Become New BCCI Secretary
The current BCCI secretary Narayanaswami Srinivasan and joint secretary Sanjay Jagdale will officially take over the responsibilities of president and secretary respectively at the 82nd AGM to be held here tomorrow.

While Srinivasan, the President-elect for one year, takes over the reins from Shashank Manohar, outgoing joint secretary Jagdale became the lone nominee for the secretary's post after pipping hot favourite Ranjib Biswal from Orissa.

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association boss Anurag Thakur will become the joint secretary while Maharashtra Cricket Association secretary and Sharad Pawar confidant Ajay Shirke will be the treasurer. Rajiv Shukla is set to become the new IPL chairman.

It wasn't exactly a cakewalk for Srinivasan and company as far as the post of joint secretary is concerned. While Biswal who is a Srinivasan aide was tipped to take over the mantle, his candidature faced strong opposition from the eastern units.

"The Cricket Association of Bengal, Assam Cricket Association and Jharkhand State Cricket Association strongly objected to Biswal being projected as the secretary. In fact JSCA president Amitabh Chaudhry was the choice by eastern states. There was so much of disharmony that Jagdale turned out to be a compromise candidate," a BCCI official in the know of things informed.

It was learnt that Biswal was peeved as he never expected such stiff opposition and even wanted to fight elections but decided otherwise once he came to know that he didn't have mandate to get into straight fight with Jagdale.

Another source said that one reason this was done was because some members felt that Srinivasan should not get everything he wanted, with Biswal perceived being close to the President-elect.

"This (making Jagdale as the secretary) restores the power balance somewhat," was how they put it.

But overall, it appears to be a smooth transfer of power with Chennai-based business tycoon Srinivasan, the vice chairman and MD of India Cements, which owns Chennai Super Kings, taking over the reins of the cash-awash Board from Manohar.

"Srinivasan is a capable administrator," Rajiv Shukla told reporters today.

Srinivasan, who was elected as the secretary of BCCI under Manohar in September 2008 and earlier, was the treasurer of the Board under Sharad Pawar, got anointed as the next chief of the cash-rich body at the 81st AGM last September.

Srinivasan, who is also the President of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association, would thus become the 30th President of BCCI and the second since the system of choosing the head one year in advance was introduced.

His ascent to the BCCI throne has coincided with the slide in fortunes of the injury-ravaged Indian team, which conquered the world by winning the coveted World Cup at the beginning of April, before being whitewashed by England in the Test rubber to lose the world's no. 1 ranking. MORE

The 0-3 defeat in the ODI rubber, coupled with the Test series humiliation, meant that the team went winless in the international engagements in all the three formats, which also included a one-off T20 game against the hosts.

The first priority for the new BCCI president would be to put the demoralised team, captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, back on track and the measures to do so could be discussed at the AGM or soon afterwards.

The general body would pass the annual accounts and report and constitute 23 different committees, including the Working Committee and the Senior Selection panel.

The senior selection panel, headed by Krishnamachari Srikkanth, is expected to remain unchanged except for the replacement of Yashpal Sharma, who has been in it for four years, by another North Zone representative.

"The selection panel would be unchanged except for Yashpal. The others have one year left (to complete their terms)," informed a Board source.

The other members of the senior panel are Narendra Hirwani, Raja Venkat and Surendra Bhave.

A formal approval of the general body would also be taken to appoint a permanent manager for the Indian squad, as per the agenda of the meeting.

 The junior selection panel, headed by Abey Kuruvilla of West Zone, would also remain unchanged as none of the five members have completed their terms, sources indicated.

The other members of the current junior panel, whose priority would be to pick the team for the forthcoming under 19 World Cup, are Arun Sharma (North), Vanka Pratap (South), Rajib Debbarman (East) and Group Capt D D Deshpande (Central).

During Manohar's tenure, the Board was rocked by Indian Premier League controversy with Lalit Modi being dumped unceremoniously being replaced by Chirayu Amin.

The Board started disciplinary proceedings against the former IPL boss and the process is still on for more than a year.

Srinivasan would have to steer the Board past the difficulties that cropped up when the IPL came under the scanner of various government tax and revenue authorities.
Next Story : Rajiv Shukla to Be New IPL Commissioner
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner