Indian Panorama for 35th Intl Film Festival of India announced

Indian Panorama for 35th Intl Film Festival of India announced
New Delhi, Sep 25 (PTI) India's entry for the Oscars 'Shwaas' and Rituparno Ghosh's 'Chokher Bali' were today named in the Indian Panorama for 35th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) even as uncertainty remained over the event's date and venue.

The jury, which submitted their recommendations to Information and Broadcasting Minister S Jaipal Reddy, selected 21 films in the feature section and 19 in the non-feature film segment.

Sandeep Sawant's Marathi film 'Shwaas', which is India's entry for the Oscars this year, will represent the country in the Asian Competition section along with Anjan Dutt's English movie 'Bow Barracks Forever'.

The government is yet to make an official announcement for this year's edition of IFFI, even as Goa -- decided as the permanent venue in last year's edition -- is most certainly to host it in November.

Six Hindi movies, including this year's national award winner 'Shwaas', are among the movies selected for the feature by the jury headed by Shaji N Karun, the renowned film-maker from Kerala.

Others finding places are the critically-acclaimed 'Chameli', Vishal Bharadwaj's 'Maqbool' and M F Hussain's 'Meenaxi: Tale of 3 Cities'. The jury, however, rejected some of Bollywood's biggest blockbusters like 'Baghban' (directed by Ravi Chopra), 'Kal Ho Na Ho' (Nikhil Advani) and 'Koi Mil Gaya' (Rakesh Roshan).

While Anup Kurien's Malayalam film 'Mansarovar' gets the honours as the opening film of the Indian Panorama, other notable selections include another Malayalam film 'Maargam' which got Rajiv Vijay Raghavan the Best Debut director national award this year.

Assamese film 'Juye Poora Xoon', adjudged the best film on environment conservation at this national awards, and 'Not Only Mrs Raut' (Best Marathi film) will also be shown at the Panorama.

In the non-feature category, 'Saanjh' by Jasmine Kaur will be the opening film while 'An Encounter With A Life Living' by Suja, which won him the national award as the best debut director, also finds a place in the 19 films selected.

Surprisingly, many of the national award winning documentaries in various categories were conspicuous by their absence despite sending in entries.

These include 'Ek Aakash' (special jury acclaim), 'Sati Radhika', 'Jeo Aur Jeene Do', 'Bhaba Pagala' and 'Aur Ghumantu Thahar Gaye'.

Next Story : Singh to meet Aziz in Dhaka during SAARC summit
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store