Hazarika, Dharmendra Among Padma Award Recipients

New Delhi
Hazarika, Dharmendra Among Padma Award Recipients
Legendary singer Bhupen Hazarika has been posthumously chosen for Padma Vibhushan, country's second highest civilian honour while cine veterans Dharmendra, Shabana Azmi and Mira Nair are among this year's Padma Bhushan awardees.

Hazarika, who died in November last year, voiced immortal songs like Dil hum hum kare, Ganga behti ho kyun.

Dharmendra, 76, the star of yesteryear superhits like Bandini, Sholay, Pratigya and Dharam Veer, was chosen for the Padma Bhushan along with actress-activist Shabana Azmi, 61, who has acted in art house films like Ankur and Arth.

Indian-American filmmaker Mira Nair, best known for her award-winning films "Saalam Bombay", "Namesake" and "Monsoon Wedding" was another name from the cinema world to get a Padma Bhushan.

The other recipients are classical musician Trippunithwra Viswanathan Gopalkrishnan, musician M S Gopalkrishnan from Tamil Nadu.

Filmmaker Soman Nair Priyadarsan and bhajan singer Anup Jalota were given Padma Shri.

The other artists selected for Padma Shri are -- musician Vanraj Bhatia, vocalist Zia Fariduddin Dagar, Khongjum Parba singer Nameirakpam Ibemni Devi, dancer Ramachandra Subraya Hegde Chittani, sitarist Shahid Parvez Khan, folk musician Sakar Khan Manganiar, dancer Minati Mishra, theatre artists Joy Michael, Natesan Muthuswamy, R Nagarathnamma, playwrights Moti Lal Kemmu, Satish Alekar, Chhau dance artist Pandit Gopal Prasad Dubey, classical vocalists Ramakant Gundecha and Umakant Gundecha.

The awards, announced each year on the occasion of Republic Day, are conferred by the President of India at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhawan sometime in March or April.
Next Story : Gilani Seeks to Put Row With Military Behind
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner