Guha Among 22 Sahitya Akademi Awardees

New Delhi
Guha Among 22 Sahitya Akademi Awardees
Historian Ramachandra Guha, Gopalakrishna Pai and Kashinath Singh are among 22 writers selected for this year's prestigious Sahitya Akademi awards.

While Guha will get the award for his book of narrative history -- India After Gandhi, Pai and Kashinath Singh are being recognised for their novels -- Swapna Saraswat and Rehan Per Ragghu respectively.

Eight books of poetry, seven novels, three essays and one each short stories, narrative history, biography and play have been selected for the awards.

The awards, which were announced today, are given every year and contain an engraved cooper plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs 1 lakh.

Writers in 23 languages are recognized every year by the Akademi.The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a jury of three members in each language.

Other writers who will get the award are Late Kabin Phukan (Assamese), Manindra Gupta (Bengali), Premananda Mosahari (Bodo), Lalit Magotra (Dogri), Mohan Parmar (Gujarati), Naseem Shafaie (Kashmiri), Melvyn Rodrigues (Konkani), M K Sanu (Malayalam), Kshetri Bira (Manipuri), Grace (Marathi), Kalpanakumari Devi (Odia) and Baldev Singh (Punjabi).

Atul Kanakk (Rajasthani), Harekrishna Satapathy (Sanskrit), Adiyta Kumar Mandi (Santali), Mohan Gehani (Sindhi), S Venkatesan (Tamil), Samala Sadasiva (Telugu) and Khalell Mamoon (Urdu) are the other winners.
Next Story : Rahul Supports Bringing New Leadership in Congress
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters