Externments violation of constitutional rights: Lalu

Externments violation of constitutional rights: Lalu
Patna, Feb 21 (PTI) RJD President Lalu Prasad today voiced displeasure over the externment of his senior party leaders, including MPs, by the District Magistrates of Siwan and Gopalganj.

''This (externment) amounts to violation of the constitutional rights of a citizen. The MPs and other leaders who have been externed were voters of that area,'' he told a press conference here.

Stating that he did not want to enter into arguement with anybody on the issue, Prasad said, ''If at all they were involved in any criminal case, the police would have taken action. If they were found indulging in any electoral malpractice, they could have been arrested''.

Siwan District Magistrate C K Anil had on February 15, ordered externment of RJD MP from Siwan Mohammed Shahabuddin, Chief Minister Rabri Devi's MP brothers Aniruddh Prasad and Subhash Yadav, JD(U) Lok Sabha member from Maharajganj Prabhunath Singh and LJP leader Kali Pandey till February 28 apprehending that the poll process would be vitiated by their presence.

Shahabuddin, who was lodged in Siwan jail in connection with the kidnapping and murder case of CPI-ML activist Munna Chaudhary, was earlier shifted to Beur jail in the state capital on the orders of the Election Commission which apprehended vitiation of elections due to his presence in Siwan.

Though Shahabuddin was granted bail in the Munna Chaudhary case on February 18, Siwan District Magistrate C K Anil barred him the same day from entering the district for six months under Section three of the Bihar Control of Crime Act, 1981.

In another setback to the controversial Siwan MP, Anil today passed an order under Section 12 of the CCA extending Shahabuddin's detention in judicial custody in Beur jail till February 28 to ensure free, fair and peaceful elections.

The District Magistrate-cum-District Electoral officer of Gopalganj, K K Pathak, too on February 18 ordered externment of Sadhu Yadav, whose wife Indira is contesting as an independent from Gopalganj assembly seat, former MP and now LJP leader Kali Pandey, district board member and BSP candidate from Kataiya Amrendra Pandey and RJD nominee from the same constituency Kiran Devi till February 27 apprehending trouble during elections.

Post a Comment

You are not logged in, To comment please / Register
or use
Next Story : Power, water supply restored at key installations
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters