DMK to form minority govt in Tamil Nadu

DMK to form minority govt in Tamil Nadu
Chennai, May 11 (PTI) Tamil Nadu was today headed for a minority ministry for the second time in its political history after the DMK-led alliance toppled AIADMK from power in the assembly elections.

Though the pre-poll combine of DMK and its allies won a handsome 163 out of the total of 234 seats, ousting AIADMK supremo and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, DMK headed by four-time Chief Minister M Karunanidhi fell short of a simple majority to end up as the single largest party with a tally of 96 seats.

The AIADMK front managed to win only 69 seats.

But with DPA allies PMK and Left parties pledging their outside support to a ministry to be headed by M Karunanidhi, chances of a first-ever coalition government in the state appeared slim and the 82-year old DMK patriarch would become the Chief Minister for a record fifth time.

DMK's major ally Congress was likely to follow suit when CWC member Veerappa Moily calls on Karunanidhi tomorrow. It was Moily who had brokered the poll pact with DMK.

In the first general elections in 1952, people had thrown a fractured verdict and late C Rajagoplachari was hand picked by Jawaharlal Nehru to head the government.

After formation of the ministry, Rajaji encouraged members of Common Wheel party and Peasants and Workers Party, who had won a sizeable number of seats, to join Congress with offers of ministrial berths and converted his minority government into a majority one.

It is also for the first time that Tamil Nadu Assembly would have a strong opposition with AIADMK winning 61 seats and its allies MDMK and DPI six and two each. Incidentally, MDMK is making its debut in the assembly.

The DMK won 96 seats of the 132 contested while its ally Congress bagged 34 of the 48 seats contested.

PMK, which contested 31 seats, was able to win 18 seats with the success rate of 58.06 per cent, the lowest among the DMK's allies.

CPI-M had a success rate of 69.2, winning nine of the 13 seats contested, while CPI, which contested 11 seats to win six seats had a success rate of 54.54 per cent.

AIADMK, which contested 184 seats and won 61, had a success rate of 33.15 per cent. Its ally MDMK, which fought 35 seats and won six, just managed 17.14 per cent.

DPI, another ally of AIADMK, won two of the nine seats contested to get a sucess rate of 22.22 per cent.

The DMK's magic manisfesto did the wonders as it turned the tables against AIADMK.

Actor-turned-politician Vijaykant, on his debut, played the spoilsport in many constituencies as the votes polled by his Desiya Murpooku Dravidar Kazhagam party was less than the winning margins in them.

The BJP, which contested the elections on its own, drew a blank.

In a rough estimate, DPA got 45 per cent of the vote share, AIADMK 40 per cent and DMDK snatched away 8.5 per cent of vote, more than the six per cent needed for getting EC's recognition as a regional party.

Next Story : Ministry-making process at discussion stage: Buddhadev
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner