Dilshan Quits, Jayawardene Appointed As Lankan Captain

Dilshan Quits, Jayawardene Appointed As Lankan Captain
Mahela Jayawardene was today reappointed captain of the Sri Lankan squad for all three formats of the game hours after Tillakaratne Dilshan resigned from the post following the team's dismal showing in South Africa.

The 34-year-old's immediate assignment would be to lead the team in the triangular series involving hosts Australia and India starting early February, sports minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage announced today.

Angelo Mathews was named vice-captain of the 15-member squad which also included Dilshan.

All-rounder Farveez Maharoof and pacer Chanaka Welegedara were recalled after having last played an ODI for Sri Lanka in June 2010.

The two were brought in place of Kosala Kulasekara and Dilhara Fernando, both of whom who were part of the squad for the recent ODI series in South Africa.

Appointed to the hot seat by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), Jayawardene led the side to the World Cup final in 2007.

The 35-year-old Dilshan sent in his resignation from South Africa, where Sri Lanka concluded their disastrous tour yesterday.

Sri Lanka lost the three-match Test series 1-2 and the five-match ODI series 2-3.

"Dilshan has resigned as captain in all three formats of the game," SLC said in a statement.

"Members of the executive committee take this opportunity to thank Dilshan for his commitment and dedication during his tenure as the national captain," the Board said.

"We also wish him well as he continues to represent Sri Lanka as a national player."
Next Story : RBI May Not Cut Interest Rates at Policy Review
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner