Bolt Named Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

Amit Kumar Das/Abu Dhabi
Bolt Named Laureus World Sportsman of the Year
Olympic gold medallist sprinter Usain Bolt was tonight named as the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year for the second consecutive time in a glittering function at the Emirates Palace here.

Sizzling tennis star Serena Williams, who bagged two Grand Slam titles - Australian Open and Wimbledon - last year won the Sportswoman of the Year Award and now stands only second to Roger Federer, who has so far won Laureus Award four times.

Williams had won the Laureus Comeback Award in 2007, while Federer won the Laureus Sportsman of the Year award from 2005-2008.

Reigning Formula One champion Jenson Button won the Breakthrough of the Year Award, while his last year's team Brawn GP was named Laureus World Team of the Year.

Belgium's tennis sensation Kim Clijsters, who shocked the world by winning the US Open after returning from retirement, won the Laureus Comeback of the Year Award.

South African swimmer Natalie Du Toit, who won five gold medals in the 2008 Summer Paralympics, won the Laureus Disability Award, while Australia's three-time World surfing champion Stephanie Gilmore was named Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year.

Academy member Nawal El Moutawakel received the Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award for her work for women in sport and the International Olympic committee.

The Sport for Good Award went to American basketball legend Dikembe Mutombo for his charitable work in his native Congo.
Next Story : Govt Disputes Mamata's 'Communication Gap' Claim
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store