Assembly Elections: Congress, YSRCP MLAs Join TRS

Assembly Elections: Congress, YSRCP MLAs Join TRS

After suffering a setback in the Legislative Assembly elections in May, the woes of Congress are continuing in Telangana with some of its legislators joining the ruling TRS today.

While Congress MLA G Vithal Reddy reportedly joined TRS last month, another legislator K Kanakaiah and two MLCs Rajeswara Rao and Yadava Reddy switched over to the ruling party at an event here.

Congress Legislature Party leader K Jana Reddy had said the party would seek a clarification from Vithal Reddy, MLA from Mudhole in Adilabad district, about his joining TRS.

AICC General Secretary Digvijay Singh, in-charge of party affairs in Telangana, had said here recently that the party could not win over public support in the elections though it was Congress which delivered on the decades-old demand for statehood.

The party is now trying to salvage some pride by hoping to win the September 13 bypoll to Medak Lok Sabha seat, necessitated by the resignation of TRS President K Chandrasekhar Rao after he became the Chief Minister.

However, Congress is not alone in facing desertions from its ranks. YSR Congress MLA from Khammam district Madanlal also joined the TRS today.

Speculation is rife that senior TDP leader and former Minister Tummala Nageswara Rao, who quit the party last week, would join the Chandrasekhar Rao-led outfit soon.

TDP MLA from Sanat Nagar in Hyderabad T Srinivas Yadav met the Chief Minister today, triggering speculation about his politcal moves.

TRS also got a boost today with CPI, which had an alliance with Congress in the May Assembly poll, declaring support to the ruling party candidate for Medak bypoll.

Post a Comment

You are not logged in, To comment please / Register
or use
Next Story : Cong Leaders Should Attend Modi's Address to Students: Uma
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters