Aishwarya among 25 Indians named WEF's Global Young Leaders

Aishwarya among 25 Indians named WEF's Global Young Leaders
Dharam Shourie, New York, Jan 16 (PTI) Bollywood hearthrob Aishwarya Rai and MPs Omar Abdullah, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Naveen Jindal are among 25 Indians who figure in this year's list of 250 Global Young Leaders by the Geneva-based World Economic Forum.

Those chosen for the honour also include director Karan Johar, Managing Editor of NDTV Vikram Chandra, Chief Managing Editor of HT Media Raju Narisetti and Prince Shivraj Singh of Jodhpur.

For Rai, who got engaged to her 'Guru' costar Abhishek Bachchan on Sunday, it is yet another reason to celebrate.

The Forum selects young leaders from various fields every year based on their professional accomplishments, their commitment to society and their potential to contribute to shaping the future of the world. The selection committee is chaired by Queen Rainaof Jordan.

Also on the list are MP B G Pundlikrao, Chief Financial Officer of ICICI Bank Vishka Mulye, Vice President of Tata Sons Mukand Govind Rajan, Managing Director of Dr. Reddy's Laboratories Satish Reddy, Vice President Infosys Technologies Subhash Dhar and President of the Parks Hotels India Priya Paul.

The Young Global Leaders 2007 include 125 business leaders, as well as leaders from governments, academia, media and society at large from nearly 70 countries.

"This unique global network has the potential to tackle global challenges through knowledge sharing and leveraging horizontal networks of collaborative platforms. Together, they form a powerful international force for the global common good," said Klaus Schwab, Executive Chairman of the World Economic Forum.

Schwab said The Forum of Young Global Leaders will be a voice for the future in global thought processes.

Co-founder of Ortel Communications Jagi Mangat Panda, Executive Director of Godrej Industries Tanya Dubash, Neeraj Bharadwaj of Apax Partners, Managing Director of PVR Cinemas Ajay Bijli, Amit Burman of Dabur India, Amit Chandra of DSP Merrill Lynch and Arvind Kejrival of Parivartan also find their names on the list.

Also included are G V Sanjay Reddy of GVK Industries, Ramesh Ramanathan, founder of Janaagraha, Jignesh Shah of Financial Technologies and Ruchir Sharma of Morgan Stanley Investments.

The new class represents all regions, including nominees from East Asia (50), Europe (50), Middle East and North Africa (25), North America (50), South Asia (30), sub-Saharan Africa (20) and Latin America (25).

The current community of 416 Young Global Leaders represents 90 countries and includes Larry Page and Sergey Brin, co-founders of Google; Mikheil Saakashvili, President of Georgia; Kumi Naidoo, Secretary-General and Chief Executive Officer, Civicus: World Alliance for Citizen Participat ion; Daniela Mercury, Singer, Brazil; and Michelle Guthrie, Chief Executive Officer, Star Group.

Post a Comment

You are not logged in, To comment please / Register
or use
Next Story : Mobile users can claim damages for unsolicited calls, SMS
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

or just type initial letters