60th National Film Awards: Irrfan Khan Wins Best Actor

New Delhi
60th National Film Awards: Irrfan Khan Wins Best Actor
File Photo
60th National Film Awards: Irrfan Khan Wins Best Actor
Paan Singh Tomar, Tigmanshu Dhulia's biopic on the athlete-turned-dacoit, was named the best picture today at the 60th National Film Awards while its male star Irrfan Khan shared the best actor trophy with veteran Marathi actor Vikram Gokhale.

Irrfan was chosen for his intense portrayal of the steeplechase player Paan Singh Tomar. A seven-time national champion in the '50s and '60s, Tomar, who served in the Indian army, turned a bandit after a land feud in his family. He was killed in 1981.

Gokhale, who has acted in many Hindi films as well, was honoured for his poignant depiction of a man struggling to save his dying wife in Marathi film Anumati.

Usha Jadhav was adjudged the best actress portrayal of a rustic housewife in Marathi film Dhag while its filmmaker Shivaji Lotan Patil was declared the best director. The film depicts the struggle of a family, who take care of their village crematorium.

A beaming Irrfan, 46, dedicated his award to the athlete and his family. "I am happy that Paan Singh Tomar, who was unknown, became a household name through this film. I share this award with his family. I hope that the film helps people realise that talent should not go to waste," Irrfan told PTI.

Bollywood shared the spotlight with Malayalam and Marathi films with the jury recognising wide variety of movies from different regional cinema industries. Though not in the main categories, Malayalam films bagged 13 awards to emerge at the top.

Headed by veteran filmmaker Basu Chatterjee, the 11-member feature films jury announced the awards today. The National Film Awards along with Dada Saheb Phalke honour, to be declared later, are likely to be given by President Pranab Mukherjee on May 3, officials said.

Bedabrata Pain's much-lauded debut Chittagong, about Chittagong uprising, shared Indira Gandhi award for best debut film with Siddhartha Siva's Malayalam film 101 Chodiyangal.

Hindi film Vicky Donor, John Abraham produced film on sperm donation, was named for three trophies. The Shoojit Sircar directed film was a joint winner with Anwar Rasheed directed Malayalam film Ustad Hotel for the best popular film providing wholesome entertainment honour.

Vicky Donor actors Annu Kapoor and Dolly Ahluwalia were best supporting actor and actress. Ahluwalia won the award along with Kalpana for Malayalam film Thanichalla Njan.

Director Sujoy Ghosh was declared the best original screenplay writer for his Vidya Balan starrer Kahaani while another Hindi film Oh My God, produced by superstar Akshay Kumar, won the best adapted screenplay for Bhavesh Mandalia and Umesh Shukhla. Ustad Hotel was recognised for best dialogue for Anjali Menon.

Kahaani, about a pregnant woman's quest for her missing husband in Kolkata, won Namrata Rao the best editing honour.

'Bolo Na' from Chittagong won the best lyrics for Prasoon Joshi and best male playback singer for Shankar Mahadevan. Aarti Anklekar Tikekar was named the best female playback singer for 'Palakein Naa Moondoon' from Marathi film Samhita.

Thanichalla Njan, apart from its supporting actress win, was also named in the Nargis Dutt award for best feature film on national integration category.

Malayalam film Spirit, which deals with the topic of alcoholism, was named as the best film on social issues.

Another Malayalam film Black Forest was declared the best film on environment conservation/preservation.

Hindi film Dekh Indian Circus was best children's film and its lead Virendra Pratap shared the best child actor honour with 101 Chodiyangal. Nikhil Advani directed 'Delhi Safari' was named the best animation film.

Kamal Haasan's Vishawaroopam won best production design and best choreography for Pandit Birju Maharaj.

Poornima Ramaswamy was named best costume designer for Tamil film Paradesi while Raja won the best make-up artist award for Tamil movie Vazakkuenn 18/9.

Bollywood dominated in the special jury award with Aamir Khan starrer Talaash, Gangs of Wasseypur, Kahaani and Dekh Indian Circus being named in the category with Bengali film Chitrangada.

Best cinematography honour went to Ko:YAD, a film in Mising language.

Best audiography award was shared by Malayalam film Annayum Rassoolum, Shabdo and Gangs of Wasseypur.

Malayalam film Kaliyachan and Marathi film Samhita shared the best music direction award. Telugu film Eega was named in the best special effects category.

Baandhon, by Jahnu Baruah, was named the best Assamese film; Kaushik Ganguly's Shabdo best Bengali film; The Good Road, by Gyan Arora, best Gujarati film, Filmistan, by Nitin Kakkar, best Hindi film; P Sheshadri's Bharath Stores best Kannada film; Kamal's Celluiod best Malayalam film; Leipaklei was named best Manipuri film.

The others in this category were: Investment (Marathi), Nabar (Punjabi), Vazakkuenn 18/9 (Tamil), Eega (Telugu), Harud (Urdu), Lessons in Forgetting (English) and Ko:Yad.

Special mention was given to actor Lal for Malayalam film Ozhimuri, H G Dhattatreya for Kannada film Bharat Stores, Parineeti Chopra for Ishaqzaade, Bishnu Kharghoria for Assamese film Baandhon, Tannishta Chatterjee for Hindi film Dekh Indian Circus, Hansraj Jagtap for Marathi film Dhag and late actor Thilakan for Malayalam film Ustad Hotel.

Silent Cinema In India-A Pictorial Journey in English by B D Garga was named the best book on cinema while best film critic award went to Malayalam writer P S Radhakrishnan while Piyush Roy won a special mention. 

Big winners for the 60th National Film Awards 2012:


Winners (Movies/Artists)

Best Feature Film Paan Singh Tomar
Best Hindi Film Filmistan
Best Debut Film(s) Chittagong / 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam)
Best Animation Film Delhi Safari
Best Actor(s) Irrfan Khan, Paan Singh Tomar / Vikram Gokhale, Anumati
Best Actress Usha Jadhav, Dhag (Marathi)
Best Telegu Film Eega
Best Supporting Actor Annu Kapoor, Vicky Donor
Best Supporting Actress Dolly Ahluwalia, Vicki Donor
Best Screenplay-Original Kahaani
Best Screenplay-Adapted Oh My God
Best Dialogue Anjali Menon, Ustad Hotel
Best Special Effects Eega
Best Playback Singer (Male) Shankar Mahadevan, Chittagong
Best Playback Singer (Female) Aarti Anklekar Tikekar, Samhita (Marathi)
Best Lyrics Prasoon Joshi, Chittagong
Best Direction Dhag (Marathi)
Best Choreography Birju Maharaj, Vishwaroopam
Best Audiography Award(s) Gangs of Wasseypur / Annayum Rassoolum / Shabdo
Best Popular Film Providing
Wholesome Entertainment
Ustad Hotel (Malayalam) / Vicky Donor
Best Investigative Film Inshallah Kashmir
Best Edited Film Kahaani
Best Film Critic P.S. Radhakrishnan
Special Jury Award(s) Talaash / Gangs of Wasseypur / Kahaani / Dekh Indian Circus / Chitrangada
Special Jury Mention Parineeti Chopra, Ishaqzaade


Next Story : Halt in Mining Has Hit Goa's Economy: Survey
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner