53.32% Voting in Third Phase of Bihar Poll

53.32% Voting in Third Phase of Bihar Poll

Women outnumbered men as an estimated 53.32 per cent voter turnout was recorded in 50 assembly constituencies spread across six districts of Bihar which went to the polls in the third phase today.

Chief Electoral Officer Ajay V Nayak told reporters that Buxar recorded maximum 56.58 per cent voter turnout, while Patna saw minimum 51.82 per cent voting.

Continuing with the earlier pattern, women outnumbered men in exercising franchise. While women voter turnout in today's polling was 54 per cent it was 52.50 for men, he said.

Nayak said 59 persons were arrested during the day. Besides, 38 motorcycles, two country-made pistols and six cartridges were seized by the security personnel. Voting was, however, peaceful.

He said a 123-year old lady cast vote on booth number 101 in Taraiya Assembly seat in Saran district.

Today's polling percentage was nearly three per cent more than the total voting percentage in the 2010 state assembly poll but is less than the first two phases of balloting.

The first phase of polling on October 12 witnessed 57 per cent voters turnout and 54.5 per cent in the second phase on October 16.

Giving details, the CEO said Saran recorded 52.50 per cent turnout, Vaishali 54.82 per cent, Nitish Kumar's home district Nalanda 54.11 per cent, Patna 51.82 per cent, Bhojpur 53.30 per cent and Buxar 56.58 per cent.

Kumar, who cast his vote at a polling booth at Bakhtiyarpur, faced protests from a section of the people agitating over the death of a girl allegdly due to lack of proper medical facility in the area.

Other prominent personalities who exercised their franchise during the day included Governor Ram Nath Kovind and his wife Savita, RJD chief Lalu Prasad, his wife Rabri Devi and son Tejaswi and senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi.

Union minister Ravishankar Prasad arrived at the polling booth on an e-rickshaw with his mother. Union Minister of State Ramkripal Yadav rode a motorcycle to a booth here to cast his vote.

Polling ended at 4 PM in ten constituencies due to security reasons and at 5 PM in the remaining 40.

Stakes are high for grand secular alliance and NDA in this round of polling.

In the last Assembly poll in 2010 JD(U) had won 23 seats while BJP had won on 19 out of the 50 constituencies. Eight seats had been bagged by RJD. But this time with a change in equation the scene is different.

From grand secular alliance, RJD is contesting in maximum 25 seats, JD(U) 18 and Congress 7 in the third phase.

From NDA, BJP is fighting on 34, LJP 10, Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) 4 and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) 2.

Among those whose political fates were decided today are Lalu Prasad's sons Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejaswi Yadav at Mahua and Raghopur seats respectively in Vaishali district.

Other prominent contestants today were BJP leader Nand Kishore Yadav (Patna Sahib), ministers Shyam Rajak and Shrawan Kumar from Phulwari and Nalanda seats respectively, Deputy Speaker Amarendra Pratap Singh (Ara) and BJP chief whip in state Assembly Arun Kumar Sinha (Kumhrar).

Prasad's political turf Saran, which has 10 assembly seats, and Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's home district Nalanda which has a total seven seats went to the polls today.

There were a total of 1,45,93,980 voters for the 50 seats where the fates of 808 candidates, including 71 women, were decided today.

Voting on 81 seats have already been completed in the first two phases on October 12 and October 16.

Two more rounds of polling would be held on November one and November five for the rest of the 112 seats of the 243-seat Bihar Assembly and results would be declared on November eight.

Next Story : Gold Chain Snatched From Kolkata Police Officer
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store
Online Casino Betway Banner