The News Scroll 20 February 2017  Last Updated at 5:03 pm | Source: PTI

Buddh Circuit to host T1 Truck Racing Championship on March 19

Buddh Circuit to host T1 Truck Racing Championship on March 19

New Delhi, Feb 20 (PTI) The Season 4 of the Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will take on March 19 at the Buddh International Circuit, it was announced today.

Conducted under the aegis of world body FIA and India body FMSCI, the one-make championship will feature modified Prima trucks.

"Truck racing is a fun sport that many did not realise could actually be done, but Tata Motors made it happen. What makes the T1 PRIMA championship all the more fulfilling is the sense of purpose it brings, not only to the motorsports scene, but how it ties into the Indian commercial vehicles industry and more importantly to the profession of truck driving," said championship mentor Vicky Chandhok.

Tata Motors formally kicked off preparations for the event, with the second edition of the T1 Racer Program (TRP 2.0) in 2016.

TRP 2.0 is a comprehensive motorsports driver training and selection program. The program has received 1000 applications from all over the country, of which Season 4 will present 10 new shortlisted Indian truck drivers with an opportunity to race at country's globally renowned F1 race track.

Besides inducting new Indian drivers to the sport, Season 4 will also feature Indian drivers who took part last year. The championship will continue to host experienced international drivers representing six teams.

Disclaimer :- This story has not been edited by Outlook staff and is auto-generated from news agency feeds. Source: PTI
Next Story :
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store