The News Scroll 06 July 2018  Last Updated at 4:05 pm | Source: PTI

All-women racing team to compete in JK National Racing C'ship

All-women racing team to compete in JK National Racing C'ship

Coimbatore, Jul 6 (PTI) An all-women professional racing team will be seen in action for the first time in the opening round of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Racing Championship to start at the Kari Motor Speedway, here tomorrow.

The six ladies, who have been selected after a nation-wide talent hunt, will represent Ahura Racing, with a celebrity driver in the form of Maharashtra actress Manisha Kelkar, leading the charge against the big boys of racing.

"We are proud to welcome an all-women's team into the JKNRC. We are confident that this will usher in a new trend, attracting many more ladies to motor sports,” Sanjay Sharma, JK Motorsports head, said.

As many as 25 top drivers, including last year's champion Chittesh Mandody and former winner Vishnu Prasad will be fighting for top honours in this category. Sandeep Kumar, who finished just two points behind Chittesh last year, will also hope to do one better this time.

JKNRC's blue riband event, the Euro JK 18 will pit the country's top 11 racers against each other, in what promises to be a fast and furious affair. Last year's third-place finisher Nayan Chatterjee will begin as the favourite, with defending champion Anindith Reddy graduating to the international circuit.

The FB02's first female racer Mira Erda and the teenage duo of Yash Aradhya and Nirmal Uma Shankar are likely to emerge as new challengers to experienced hands like Sri Lanka's Bryan Perera and Manav Sharma.

In the two-wheelers' section, Joesph Matthew will return to defend his crown in the Suzuki Gixxer Cup. The Chennai racer was at his dominating best last season, winning the championship well before the fourth and final round, and will hope to continue his good run. Sachin Chaudhary of Ahmedabad and Malsawmdawngliana of Aizawl will, however, be breathing down his neck.

Like last year, the Red Bull Road to Rookies' Cup will witness an active participation from the North East, with seven out of the nine riders coming from Aizawl. The youngsters in the age category of 12-16 will aim to blaze the tracks and earn themselves an all-expenses paid trip to Spain to represent India at the mega event.

Disclaimer :- This story has not been edited by Outlook staff and is auto-generated from news agency feeds. Source: PTI
Next Story : Biomedical waste disposal unit: NGT fines Agra Municipal Corporation
Download the Outlook ​Magazines App. Six magazines, wherever you go! Play Store and App Store