Advertisement
Thursday, Sep 23, 2021
Outlook.com

A Cerebral Journey

An ambitious travel book that realigns the global landscape

A Cerebral Journey
A Cerebral Journey
outlookindia.com
-0001-11-30T00:00:00+05:53
AMERICAN journalist Robert D. Kaplan's sequel to his controversial article The Coming Anarchy (The Atlantic Monthly, February 1994) is anambitious and cerebral travel book in the tradition of Rebecca West and V.S. Naipaul.

Admirers of his 1993 bestseller Balkan Ghosts should be warned that The Ends of the Earth is quite a different kind of book. Balkan Ghosts is essentially a memoir, a loving (and well-timed) evocation of the previously obscure places Kaplan had haunted early in his career. The Ends of the Earth is very much an artifact of its moment; hence the subtitle.

The Ends of the Earth is an account of a particular journey of global scope by an experienced, thoughtful and well-informed journalist, at a particular historical moment. It is important to make this observation, because the book's true subject is a cluster of big, complex patterns and truths.

"This is a travel book," writes Kaplan in the preface. "It is concrete to the extent that my ideas arise from personal experience. It is subjective.... It is idiosyncratic.... Think...

Advertisement

Outlook Newsletters

Advertisement

Read More from Outlook

PM Modi Arrives In US For Quad And United Nations Address, Will Meet Biden Tomorrow

PM Modi Arrives In US For Quad And United Nations Address, Will Meet Biden Tomorrow

US President Joe Biden will host PM Modi at the White House for their first bilateral meeting on September 24.

New Punjab CM Faces Flak For Using Chartered Flight To Travel To Delhi

New Punjab CM Faces Flak For Using Chartered Flight To Travel To Delhi

'What is the problem if the son of a poor man boarded a jet?' said new Punjab Chief Minister, Charanjit Singh Channi

'We Were 25-30 Runs Short, Didn't Play Smart,' Says SRH Captain Williamson

'We Were 25-30 Runs Short, Didn't Play Smart,' Says SRH Captain Williamson

The loss versus DC further dampened SRH’s chances of qualifying for the IPL 2021 playoffs. Sunrisers Hyderabad have just two points from eight games

India Ranks Third Among Most Polluted Asian Countries

India Ranks Third Among Most Polluted Asian Countries

India last revised its air pollution standards in 2009, which have been more relaxed in comparison to WHO's prescribed guidelines and other Asian countries.

Advertisement