Yeddyurappa Submits Resignation As MLA
send via whatsapp

Former Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, who won Shimoga Lok Saba seat by a huge margin, has submitted his resignation as an MLA to the Speaker of Karnataka Assembly.

"He (Yeddyurappa) has resigned as MLA in the wake of him being elected as the Member of Parliament. He has submitted his resignation effective May 30," Karnataka Assembly Speaker Kagodu Thimmappa told PTI.

Yeddyurappa had won Shikaripura seat in 2013 Assembly elections as Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) candidate, the party he had floated after breaking away from BJP.

Scoring a spectacular victory, Yeddyurappa had won the Shimoga seat by 3,63,305 votes in the April 17 Lok Sabha polls, after his return to BJP early this year. He merged his KJP with BJP.

Yeddyurappa, reportedly a ministerial aspirant, had last week written to Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi, pledging to work for strengthening the party in the state, after apparently being asked not to lobby.

A group of BJP leaders from Karnataka, including Yeddyurappa, had met Modi after the results apparently to push their case for ministerial berths but they were reportedly told not to lobby and to work for strengthening the party instead.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: