Writers Gopinath, Savithri Get First Kamala Surayya Awards
send via whatsapp
M K Gopinathan Nair and Savithri Rajeev have won the first Kamala Surayya memorial awards in the category of story and poems respectively.

Kamala Surayya Trust's Chairman, Dr Sukumar Azhikode told reporters here today that the award under the category of story went for Nair, alias Vysakahan's book Silencer and 'Savitri Rajeev's poems.

The awards, consisting of a purse of Rs 51,000, plaque and a testimonial, would be presented on March 31, he said.

Vysakhan had bagged several awards earlier including Kerala Sahitya Academy (1989) and Cherukaad award (1991).

Rajeev's poems had been rendered into other languages, he added.

Azhikode said that it would be possible for the Trust to present Puraskar for the best poems in English at the international level from next year. It would be not be less than Rs two lakh for the international Puraskar, he added.

The award has been instituted in memory of well known writer Kamala Surayya, who had penned several books and poems both in English and Malayalam.
Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: