Virbhadra Singh, Vidya Stokes in Cong List for HP Polls
send via whatsapp

Himachal Pradesh PCC President Virbhadra Singh, CLP leader Vidya Stokes and former state party chief Kaul Singh Thakur figure in the list of 68 Congress candidates released by AICC today for the November four Assembly elections in the state.

Virbhadra Singh, a five-time Chief Minister, has been nominated from Shimla Rural constituency. A member of Lok Sabha, Singh had resigned as Union Minister in June, a day after a Shimla Court had framed corruption charges against him. He also has his stamp on a majority of the seats for the 68-member Assembly announced by Congress.

While Stokes has been fielded from Theog, Thakur is the nominee from Darang. Thakur had made way for Virbhadra Singh as PCC chief recently.

Vijay Singh Mankotia, who has been re-inducted into Congress after he patched up with Virbhadra Singh, will contest from Shahpur. Mankotia had levelled corruption charges against Singh and his wife and had come out with a CD in that regard a few years ago.

Senior leader Dhani Ram Shandil and Gangu Ram Musafir have been fielded from Solan-SC and Pachhad-SC respectively, while AICC Secretary Asha Kumari will contest from Dalhousie. All India Mahila Congress chief Anita Verma will contest from Sujanpur.

Anil Sharma, son of former Union Minister Sukh Ram, has been made the party nominee from Mandi, while Ajay Mahajan, son of former PCC President Sat Mahajan, will contest from Nurpur. Kush Parmar, son of Himachal Pradesh's first chief minister Y S Parmar, will again contest from Nahan. He is the sitting MLA.

Former state minister G S Bali has been fielded from Nagrota, Rangila Ram Rao from Sarkaghat, Ram Lal Thakur from Naina Devi and former Youth Congress president Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu from Nadaun. Sitting MLA Harshwardhan Singh Chauhan will contest from Shillai, Mukesh Agnihotri will contest from Haroli and Brij Bihari Lal Butail from Palampur.

The poll process for the November 4 Himachal assembly election will start with the issue of notification on October 10 when candidates will start filing nominations. While October 17 is the last date for filing nominations, scrutiny will be held on October 18. The last date for withdrawal of candidatures is October 20.

Following is the full list of Congress candidates announced by the AICC for Himachal Assembly polls:

Churah-SC - Surender Bhardwaj, Bharmour-ST - Thakur Singh Bharmouri, Chamba - Pawan Nayyar, Dalhousie - Asha Kumari, Bhattiyat - Kuldeep Singh Pathania, Nurpur - Ajay Mahajan, Indora-SC - Kamal Kishor, Fatehpur - Sujan Singh Pathania, Jawali - Neeraj Bharti, Dehra - Brig Rajinder Singh Rana.

Jaswan-Pragpur - Nikhil Rajour, Jawalamukhi - Sanjay Rattan, Jaisinghpur-SC - Yadvinder Goma, Sullah - Jagniwal Pal, Nagrota - G S Bali, Kangra - Surender Kumar, Shahpur - Maj Vijay Singh Mankotia, Dharamshala - Sudir Sharma, Palampur-Brij Bihari Lal Butail.

Baijnath-SC - Kishori Lal, Lahaul & Spiti-ST - Ravi Thakur, Manali - Bhuvneshwar Gaur, Kullu - Sunder Singh Thakur, Banjar - Karan Singh, Anni-SC - Ishwar Dass, Karsog-SC - Khub Ram, Sundernagar - Sohan Lal, Nachan-SC - Tek Chand Dogra, Seraj - Tara Thakur, Darang - Kaul Singh Thakur, Jogindernagar - Surender Pal Thakur.

Dharampur - Chander Shekhar, Mandi - Anil Sharma, Balh-SC- Prakash Chaudhary, Sarkaghat- Rangila Ram Rao, Bhoranj-SC - Ramesh Dogra, Sujanpur - Anita Verma, Hamirpur - Narendra Thakur, Barsar - Inder Dutt Lakhanpal, Nadaun - Sushvinder Singh Sukhu, Chintpurni-SC - Kuldeep Kumar, Gagret - Rakesh Kalia, Haroli - Mukesh Agnihotri.

Una - Satpal Raizada, Kutlehar - Ram Das Malagar, Jhanduta-SC - Biru Ram Kishore, Ghumarwin - Rajesh Dharmani, Bilaspur - Bumber Thakur, Sri Naina Deviji - Ram Lal Thakur, Arki - Sanjay Awasthi, Nalagarh - Lakhvinder Singh Rana, Doon - Ram Kumar, Solan-SC - Dhani Ram Shandil, Kasauli-SC - Vinod Sultanpuri, Pachhad-SC - Gangu Ram Musafir.

Nahan - Kush Parmar, Sri Renukaji-SC - Vinay Kumar, Paonta Sahib - Sardar Onkar Singh, Shillai - Harshwardhan Chauhan, Chopal - Subhash Chand Manglate, Theog - Vidya Stokes, Kasumpti - Anirudh Singh, Shimla - Harish Janartha, Shimla Rural - Virbhadra Singh, Jubbal-Kotkhai - Rohit Thakur, Rampur-SC - Nand Lal, Rohru-SC - Mohan Lal Brakta, Kinnaur-ST - Jagat Singh Negi.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: