UP, Maharashtra Get Lion's Share in Union Cabinet
send via whatsapp

Uttar Pradesh, where BJP's stunning performance in Lok Sabha elections helped it come to power on its own, has got the lion's share of nine members in the 46-member council of ministers which was sworn in today.

BJP bagged 73 out of 80 seats along with its ally Apna Dal in the key battleground state and saw the rout of main regional parties such as BSP and ruling Samajwadi Party.

Leading the pack of members from UP is Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself who won the election from Varanasi.

Apart from the Prime Minister, the cabinet has four more party heavyweights--BJP President Rajnath Singh who won from Lucknow, Uma Bharti from Jhansi, Kalraj Mishra from Deoria and Maneka Gandhi from Pilibhit.

The state has also got representation in the form of two Ministers of State (independent charge)--former army chief V K Singh (Ghaziabad) and Santosh Gangwar from Bareilly.

The cabinet also got representation from western UP where riots had hit Muzaffarnagar last year and was believed to have been caused polarisation with Muzaffarnagar MP Sanjiv Kumar Baliyan taking oath as a Minister of State.

Eastern UP got its presence registered with Ghazipur MP Manoj Sinha also taking oath as Minister of State.

In terms of representation, Maharashtra takes the second place with former party chief Nitin Gadkari, senior leaders Gopinath Munde and Anant Geete (Shiv Sena) being inducted as cabinet ministers while Prakash Javadekar and Piyush Goel getting Ministers of State (Independent Charge) and Rao Saheb Danve as a Minister of State.

In Congress-NCP-ruled Maharashtra, BJP-Sena alliance won 42 out of 48 Lok Sabha seats. Assembly polls in the state are due by October.

Bihar has received a bounty of five ministers in the just sworn-in Narendra Modi Cabinet as against the duck the state had ended up with in UPA-II.

With three Cabinet berths, one Minister of State (MoS) Independent-charge and one MoS appointment in its kitty, the spotlight is back on the state where Assembly elections are due next year.

The state leaders, who were sworn in Modi's council of ministers are Ravishankar Prasad, Radha Mohan Singh and LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan (all three cabinet ministers) and Rashtriya Loktantrik Samta Party (RLSP) chief Upendra Kushwaha as a Minister of State.

Madhya Pradesh has an equal number of ministers with Sushma Swaraj, Najma Heptullah, Narendra Singh Tomar and Thavarchand Gehlot being made cabinet ministers.

From Karnataka, M Venkaiah Naidu, Ananth Kumar, D V Sadananda Gowda were inducted as cabinet ministers whil G M Siddheshwara was sworn-in as a Minister of State.

From the Prime Minister's home state of Gujarat, Arun Jaitley and Smriti Irani have been made cabinet ministers while Mansukhbhai Vasawa has been given Minister of State rank.

Haryana has got two members in the council of ministers with Rao Inderjit Singh taking over as Minister of State (independent charge) while Faridabad MP Kishanpal taking oath as a Minister of State.

From Odisha, the lone MP of BJP Jual Oram has been made a cabinet minister. Oram was also in the cabinet of Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Harsimrat Kaur Badal is the lone representative from Punjab while ShriGanganagar MP Nihalchand is the only representative from Rajasthan where all 25 seats in Lok Sabha were won by BJP.

Harsh Vardhan from Delhi, Sarbanand Sonowal from Assam, Jitendra Singh from Jammu and Kashmir, Pon Radhkrishnan from Tamil Nadu, Ashok Gajapthi Raju (TDP) from Andhra Pradesh, Shripad Nayak from Goa, Kiran Rijiju from Arunachal Pradesh and Vishnu Deo Sai from Chhatisgarh are also lone representatives from there respective states.

States which have got no no representation in the cabinet include West Bengal, Kerala, Nagaland, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Manipur, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Tripura.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: