Two New Tamil Nadu Ministers Sworn-In
send via whatsapp

Two newly appointed Ministers of Jayalalithaa-led Tamil Nadu Cabinet were sworn-in today.

Governor K Rosaiah administered the oath of office to Tourism Minister S P Shunmuganathan and Minister for Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare Abdul Rahim, replacing two ministers axed by Chief Minister Jayalalithaa yesterday.

With the induction of the new ministers, all first-time MLAs, the strength of the Cabinet remains at 33.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at the Raj Bhavan here in presence of Jayalalithaa.

Jayalalithaa had dropped Labour Minister S T Chellapandian and Minister for Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare A Mohammedjan from the council of ministers.

S P Shunmuganathan represents Srivaikuntam constituency, while S Abdul Rahim represents Avadi in the Assembly.

Jayalalithaa had also yesterday re-allocated portfolios of three ministers.

Forests Minister K T Pachamal would henceforth handle the portfolio of Labour while P Chendur Pandian, till now Tourism Minister, would be the Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments Minister.

The portfolio of Forests was allocated to M S M Anandan.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: