Thayil Among 24 Selected for Sahitya Akademi Awards
send via whatsapp

Booker-nominated Jeet Thayil and Bengali novelist Subrata Mukhopadhyaya were among 24 authors selected for this year's Sahitya Akademi Awards, which was dominated by poets.

Twelve of the 24 awards went to works of poets, which included K Sachitandandan (Malayalam - Marannu Vacha Vazhikal), late Bal Krishna 'Bhaura' (Dogri - Tim-Tim Karde Tare) and Makhan Lal Kanwal (Kashmiri - Yath Aangnaz Manz).

Thayil, whose novel Narcopolis was shortlisted for Booker Prize, was selected for his poetry collection These Errors are Correct in English category.

The Akademi said 12 books of poetry, six short story collections, four novels and one each of autobiography and criticism were selected for the awards this year, two of them posthumously.

The awards were given to books first published between January 2008 and December 2010. The award carries Rs one lakh cash, engraved copper plaque and a shawl.

Among the poets, other winners are Guneswar Musahary (Bodo -- Boro Khonthai), Chandrakant Devtale (Hindi -- Pathar Fenk Raha Hoon), H S Shivaprakash (Kannada -- Mabbina Haage Kabniveyassi), Kashinath Shamba Lolienkar (Konkani -- Kavyasutra) and Darsan Buttar (Punjabi -- Maha Kambani).

Aaidan Singh Bhatti (Rajasthani -- Aankh Hinye Ra Hariyal Sapana), Ramji Thakkura (Sanskrit - Laghupadhyaprhbandhatrayi) and Krishna Kumar Toor (Urdu -- Ghurfa-I-Ghalib) are the other poets who were selected for the award.

Assamese writer Chandana Goswami was selected for her novel Patkair Ioare More Desh while Mukhopadhyaya was selected for his fiction Birasan. Other novelists are Jodha C Sanasam (Manipuri -- Mathou Kanba DNA) and D Selvaraj (Tamil -- Thol).

In Gujarati, Chandrakant Topiwala's critical study Gujarati Sakshibhasya was selected for the award while in Maithili Shefalika Verma's autobiography Kist-Kist Jeewan won the award.

Six short story collections also won the award.

Jayant Pawar's Marathi collection 'Phoenixchya Rakhetun Uthala Mor', Uday Thulung's Ekantvas (Nepali), Gourahari Das's Kanta O' Anyanya Galpa (Odia), Gangadhar Hansda's Banchaw Akan Goj Hor (Santali), Late Indra Vaswani's Miteea Khaan Miteea Taaeen (Sindi) and Peddibhotla Subbaramaiah Peddibhotia Subbaramaiah Kathalu Vol 1 (Telugu) were the winners in this category.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: