File - PTI Photo
New Team BJP: BSY is VP, Ram Madhav G. Sec, Varun Dropped
send via whatsapp

Anointed formally a week ago, BJP President, Amit Shah today constituted his new team dropping Varun Gandhi and inducting former Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa and new RSS face Ram Madhav.

A mix of youth and experience, the new team includes 11 Vice Presidents, eight General Secretaries and 14 Secretaries, besides 10 party Spokespersons, five of them new.

A significant part of today's exercise was the dropping of Varun Gandhi, Lok Sabha member from Sultanpur. This comes days after his mother and Union Minister Maneka Gandhi pitched for his projection as the party's Chief Ministerial candidate in Uttar Pradesh.

Sources said the decision was conveyed to Varun a few days ago with a hint that he would be free to campaign in Uttar Pradesh, where the party is hoping to form its own government in the next assembly elections due in May 2017.

Also he has not included in the new team because his mother is already part of the Modi Cabinet, sources said.

Shah has retained General Secretaries J P Nadda, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Murlidhar Rao. Ramlal will continue as General Secretary (Organisation).

The four new General Secretaries are Ram Madhav, the RSS face who was sent to the party recently, outgoing BJP Mahila Morcha chief Saroj Pandey, Lok Sabha MP from Agra Ram Shankar Katheriya and Rajya Sabha MP from Rajasthan Bhupendra Yadav.

Yeddyurappa, who returned to the party just before the Lok Sabha polls after he was earlier forced to quit as chief minister following corruption charges, is among the 11 Vice Presidents in Shah's new team. Former Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi has been retained as Vice President.

"The new team reflects a mix of youth vigour and experience, with representation to regions and social classes," said party Spokesperson Sudhanshu Trivedi.

He said the new team will act as a bridge between the Narendra Modi dispensation and the people as it will focus on conveying the message of the work done by the government. 

The other Vice Presidents are Bandaru Dattatreya and Satyapal Malik, both Lok Sabha members, Purushottam Rupala and Prabhat Jha, former state unit presidents and Raghuvar Das, a former deputy chief minister of Jharkhand.

Former Lok Sabha member from Udaipur in Rajasthan Kiran Maheshwari, Vinay Sahasrabuddhe (one of the BJP's think-tank), Renu Devi (OBC leader and former Bihar Minister) and Lucknow Mayor Dinesh Sharma.

The team has a mix of party workers from across the country, including representation from poll-bound states of Maharashtra, Haryana and Jharkhand. The team also includes five OBCs, six women and has representation from SCs and STs as well. 80 per cent of Shah's team are below the age of 60.

V Satish, Saudan Singh, Shiv Prakash and B L Santosh will be the new Joint Secretaries (Organisation).

Shah's new team has 14 secretaries. Shrikant Sharma, who heads the media unit of the party, is one of the new Secretaries.

Siddharth Nath Singh, who was co-incharge of West Bengal with Varun Gandhi, where the party registered some success in the Lok Sabha polls and increased its vote bank, has been retained as Secretary.

Former union minister Pramod Mahajan's daughter Poonam Mahajan has also been made a Secretary.

Other party Secretaries are Shyam Jaju, Anil Jain, H Raja, Ramen Deka, Sudha Yadav, Ram Shekar Netam, Arun Singh, R P Singh, Jyoti Dhruve, Tarun Chugh and Rajneesh Kumar.

The new team has retained Anurag Thakur as the Youth Wing chief and appointed former Aurangabad Mayor Vijaya Rahatkar as the new Mahila Morcha chief. Thakur has been the Youth Wing chief under previous Presidents Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari.

The five spokespersons who have been retained in Amit Shah's team are M J Akbar, Shahnawaz Hussain, Sudhanshu Trivedi, Meenakshi Lekhi and Vijay Sonkar Shastri.

The new spokespersons are Nalin Kohli, Sambit Patra, Anil Baluni, G V L Narasimha Rao and Lalita Kumaramangalam.

Former Union Minister Faggan Singh Kulaste is the new BJP ST Morcha president, while Dushyant Kumar Gautam will continue to be the party's SC Morcha chief Abdul Rasheed Ansari will continue as Minority Morcha chief.

Arun Jain will continue to be the party's office secretary in the new team.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail

Aug 17, 2014
10:04 AM

(1) BJP’s new team announced by president Shri Amit Shah has received mixed responses. It has been proved umpteen times that essentially there is not much difference between the Congress and the BJP. BJP’s claims (i) that it is a cadre-based party, (ii) it has a political philosophy of its own and is therefore a political party with a difference has simply not found many takers except in fans of BJP and particularly of Shri Narendra Modi. Question is whether the RSS-heavy new team appointed by President Shri Amit Shah will be able to prove that difference. We will have opportunities to watch performance of the new team as Assembly elections in four States will be held during next one year or so. (2) Incidentally, a crucial decision the BJP President may have to take during the next one month or so relates to the party’s alliance with Shiv Sena. While it is true that this alliance is over two decades old, recent political developments that may force BJP President and his advisors in Maharashtra to reconsider future of alliance in coming months. The seat-sharing formula for the Maharashtra Assembly election which will be held during October-November this year may be the trigger which may force BJP to break alliance Shiv Sena. We will have to wait and watch. (3) Recently, Shri Varun Gandhi’s mother Ms Maneka Gandhi had made her wish (or rather her political ambition) very clear. She is of the opinion that Varun Gandhi is indeed now fit to shoulder responsibilities of the post of chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. One wonders whether her view is shared by senior politicians of BJP in Uttar Pradesh. However, the move of BJP president to drop Shri Varun Gandhi from his team may not be very much appreciated by son-mother duo.

Narendra M Apte, PUNE
Order by

Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: