K'taka Polls: BJP Releases 3rd List of Candidates
send via whatsapp
The ruling BJP yesterday released its third list with 37 candidates for the May 5 Assembly polls but still has not taken a call about three tainted MLAs, keeping the suspense factor alive.

The BJP had announced its first list of 140 candidates on April 5 and subsequently released a set of 35 nominees. With today's 37, it has named candidates in 212 segments.

It's yet to name the candidates in the remaining 12 constituencies – Karnataka Assembly has a total of 224 seats – including Hebbal, Malur and KGF, represented by tainted MLAs Katta Subramanya Naidu, S N Krishnaiah Setty and Y Sampangi, respectively.

There has been intense speculation in recent days on whether the party would give tickets to the trio.

The last day of filing for nominations is April 17.

As per the third list, Tourism Minister Anand Singh will seek re-election from Vijayanagara in Bellary district. Singh has done a U-turn as he had said earlier this month that he would contest as an independent.

Bangalore Mayor D Venkatesha Murthy is contesting from Shantinagar segment in the city.

Following is the third list of 37 BJP candidates:

Krishnarajanagara- M P Kumar, Hanur- B K Shivakumar, Chamarajanagar- S Soma Naika, Gundlupet- H G Mallikarjuna Swamy Maddur- Smt B M Vanajakshi, Melukote- G M Ravindra, Mandya- T L Ravishankar,Hassan- M B Guruprasad, Belthangady- Ranjan G Gowda, Moodabidri- Umanath Kotian, Tarikere- T J Avinash, Kadur- Devaraj, Hirekerur- Palakshigouda H Patil.

Ranibennur- Arunkumar Pujar, Gokak- Vasudev Southeekai, Chikkodi-Sadalga Sangappagol Basavanni Rudrappa, Indi- Shailagouda Patil Biradar, Manvi (ST)- Smt Ayyamma Nayak, Maski (ST)- Shankar Medara, Vijayanagara- Anand Singh, Bellary (ST)- Huligappa Ponnur, Bellary City- Virupakshagouda,

Sandur (ST)- Maranna, Kudligi- Ramappa, Jagalur- Dr B Arunkumar, Davanagere South- Lokesh, Turuvekere- B K Somashekhar, Gubbi-S R Nataraj, Ramanagara- K S Shivamadu, Bagepalli- M Narayanswamy, Chintamani- Satyanarayana Mahesh, Mahalakshmi Layout- S Harish, Shanti Nagar- D Venkatesha Murthy, Chickpet- Uday Garudachar, Rajarajeshwarinagar- M Srinivas, Pulakeshinagar (SC)- K Palanivelu, Sarvagnanagar- Padmanabha Reddy.
Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: