Elections in Eight Rajya Sabha Seats on June 19
send via whatsapp

The Election Commission today announced holding by-election to eight of the nine Rajya Sabha seats which fell vacant recently.

The EC said holding of the bypoll to fill up the vacancy of late N Janardhana Reddy from Andhra Pradesh will be considered after the Rajya Sabha Chairman decides as to which state -- Telangana or Andhra Pradesh -- the vacancy pertains according to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.

The seats where bypolls will be held on June 19 are Jharkhand (following resignation of Trinamool Congress MP K D Singh), Uttar Pradesh (after BSP's S P Singh Baghel resigned), Odisha (following election of BJD member Anang Uday Singh Deo to the state assembly, Bihar (following election of Rajiv Pratap Rudy of BJP, Ram Vilas Paswan of LJP and Ram Kripal Yadav of RJD to the Lok Sabha), Madhya Pradesh (after Faggan Singh Kulaste of BJP was elected to the lower house) and Maharashtra (with the election of NCP's Tariq Anwar to the Lok Sabha).

The notification will be issued on June 2 and June 9 will be the last date of filing nominations.

After scrutiny of nominations the next day, candidates can withdraw from electoral battle by June 12.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: