File - PTI Photo/Kamal Singh
AAP Fields Rajmohan Gandhi Against Sandeep Dikshit
send via whatsapp

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) today released a second of list of 30 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha election with prominent names being Rajmohan Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and former BJP MP Rajan Sushant.

The list has one candidate each from Delhi, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarkhand and Jammu and Kashmir, three from Rajasthan, five from Haryana, ten from Maharashtra and six from Madhya Pradesh.

Gandhi, a noted academician and son of Devdas Gandhi, will contest elections from East Delhi, a seat currently held by Sandeep Dikshit, Congress MP and son of former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit. He had joined the party last week.

The party has also given ticket to former BJP MP Rajan Sushant from Kangra in Himachal Pradesh. He had quit the party early this year after accusing former state Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal and his son Anurag Singh Thakur of corruption. Sushant had joined the party last week.

To take on Deepender Singh Hooda, son of Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, the party has given ticket to Naveen Jaihind, a senior leader from Haryana.

Apart from Jaihind, the party has fielded farmer activist Balwinder Kaur, from Kurukshetra, a seat currently represented by Congress leader Naveen Jindal. The party has also given ticket to social activist Poonam Chand Ratti from Sirsa.

Former IAS officer Yudhbir Singh Khyalia will contest from Hisar, seat currently represented by Kuldeep Bishnoi, son of former Chief Minister Bhajan Lal, while social activist and advocate Jaisingh Thekedar will contest from Sonepat.

The party had declared the first list of 20 candidates on February 16, two days after Arvind Kejriwal resigned as the Chief Minister.

In Maharashtra, social activist Lalit Babar will contest from Solapur, a seat currently held by Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde. Prashant Mishra, a software consultant, will contest against Union Minister and NCP MP Praful Patel from Bhandara-Gondiya.

Sanjeev Sane will contest from Thane against NCP MP Sanjeev Naik and son of Enviornment minister and NCP strongman from Navi Mumbai Ganesh Naik. Actor and theatre personality Nandu Madhva will contest from Beed, a seat currently represnted by senior BJP leader Gopinath Munde.

Bhavana Wasnik, an economics professor, will contest from Amravati against NCP's Navneet Rana; Sameena Khan, a lawyer specialising in labour cases, will contest from Sangli, a seat currently represented by Union Minister and Congress MP Pratik Patil.

Wamanrao Sudaishirao, former MLA and lawyer, will contest from Chandrapur; Dilip Mhaske, a doctorate holder and farmer activist will enter electoral fray from Jalna; farmer and RTI activist Maruti Bhapkar will contest from Maval and Subhash Lomte, a social activist working in unorganised sector, will contest from Aurangabad.

In Gujarat, the party has given ticket to land reform activist Shekhada Atulbhai Govindbhai from Junagadh, a seat currently represented by BJP MP Dinu Solanki, who was arrested in the RTI activist Amit Jethava murder case.

From Punjab, Dharamvira Gandhi, a cardiologist, will enter the electoral contest from Patiala, a seat held by Union Minister Parneet Kaur and wife of former Punjab Chief Minister Amrinder Singh.

Raja Muzaffar Bhat, an RTI activist, who joined the party today, will contest from Srinagar, a seat currently represented by Farooq Abdullah.

From Rajasthan, the party has also given tickets to Ashok Kumar Jain, AAP's Rajasthan convener from Kota and former defence personnel Surendra Kumar Punia from Sikar and Raj Kadyan from Jhunjhunu.

The party has nominated Harish Chandra as its candidate from Almora.

Candidates for five Madhya Pradesh seats were also declared with party leader Bhagawat Singh Armo from Vidisha, a seat currently represented by senior BJP leader Sushma Swaraj. Former defence personnel Abdul Nasir Hanfee will contest from Jabalpur.

From Khargone, the party has nominated Narmada Bachao Andolan leader Kailash Awasya and Khuman Singh Armo, a former cop from Mandla. Former independent MLA Paras Saklecha will contest from Mandsaur and social activist Aneeta Hindoliya will contest from Ujjain.

Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.
send via whatsapp

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail

Feb 28, 2014
10:46 AM

Why is AAP not announcing its candidates in Kerala, West bengal, TamilNadu or Orissa? Is it because they are afraid their true identity will be exposed?

Ramki_Uncensored, Delhi
Feb 28, 2014
01:02 AM

The grandson of the Mahatma deserves our whole hearted backing.

Misogynist, Chennai
Feb 28, 2014
12:00 AM

For the first time in three months, Kejriwal did NOT speak to the media for two consecutive days. This is a major miracle in Indian politics. 

Will Kejriwal score a hatrick? 

Akash Verma, Chennai
Order by

Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: