Virbhadra Resigns as Lok Sabha MP
Himachal Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, who has been elected to state Assembly from Shimla(rural) constituency, today resigned as Member of Parliament from Lok Sabha.

Singh, who was elected to Lok Sabha from Mandi Parliamentary Constituency in May 2009, won the Assembly election and became the chief minister for the sixth time.

Singh, who is in Delhi, has sent his resignation to the Speaker of Lok Sabha Meira Kumar, party sources said here.

Singh, along with Irrigation and Public Health minister Vidya Stokes, would be taking oath as MLA for eighth time on first day of the Assembly session on January 8.

With the resignation of the 78-year-old leader from Lok Sabha, Mandi seat would be vacated and by-election for this seat would be held soon.
Emerging story. Watch this space for updates as more details come in
Read More In:

Follow us on Twitter for all updates, like us on Facebook for important and fun stuff
Translate into:
© Copyright PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of any PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without their prior written consent.

Post a Comment
Share your thoughts
You are not logged in, please log in or register
Must See
Daily Mail
Order by

Order by


OUTLOOK TOPICS:    a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z  0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   
Or just type in a few initial letters of a topic: